By purpose · Training and skills
Training and skills grants in Australia
Australian grant programs for workforce training, apprenticeships and skills development, from the Commonwealth, every state and territory and local councils, with the closing month on the front of every entry.
- 1,088programs on record
- 111open now
- 50closing inside 60 days
- 10jurisdictions
Counted from the catalogue on 24 Oct 2026
November 2026 is the busiest month in this lane, at 32 of the 81 training and skills programs with a published closing date inside the next year.
Who writes the cheque for training and skills projects
A netball club and an exporter are both after funding and they should be looking in completely different places. Here is where this one is.
Funded from both ends.
56% of this lane is council money and 44% comes from a state, territory or Commonwealth agency, so both are worth an application and they are rarely the same size of cheque.
- 613Councils56%
- 368State and territory34%
- 107Commonwealth10%
Who signs the cheques
- Department of Education127
- Australian Government22
- Department of Government Services19
- Australian Rural Leadership Foundation13
- Office of the Chief Scientist and Engineer11
- Queensland Government11
- Camden Council10
- City of Canning10
335 separate funders run at least one training and skills program in this catalogue. The largest holds 12% of the lane on its own.
Closing soonest
The soonest deadlines in this lane. 50 training and skills programs close inside the next 60 days.
- Closing this weekLGACommunity GrantsTown of Victoria Park$360 to $4.4kCloses October 2026
- Closing this weekAURemote Training Hubs Network: Central Australia Remote Training Hubs Grant - Round 3Department of Employment and Workplace RelationsAmount not statedCloses October 2026
- Closing this weekNSWFOUNDATION SKILLS PROGRAM - PHASE 3 - EXISITING PROVIDER APPLICATIONDepartment of EducationUp to $5.6mCloses October 2026
- Closing this weekNSWFOUNDATION SKILLS PROGRAM - PHASE 3 - NEW PROVIDER APPLICATIONDepartment of EducationUp to $5.6mCloses October 2026
- Closing this weekLGAArts and Culture FundShire of Baw BawUp to $2kCloses October 2026
- Closing this weekTAS26Ten Workplace and Get Ready Grants TASTasmanian Government$5k to $65kCloses October 2026
Also open
Open programs and ongoing intakes, in the same order: soonest deadline first. Colour down the left margin is how long is left.
| Grant | Funder | Where | Amount | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Preschools on non-government school sites program | Department of Education | NSW | Up to $4m | October 2026 |
| CHANGE IN NAME AND PURPOSE OF RESERVE FUND | Shire of Merredin | LGA | Not stated | October 2026 |
| COMMUNITY FUNDING PROGRAM | Shire of Merredin | LGA | Not stated | October 2026 |
| COMMUNITY FUNDING PROGRAM 2021/22 FINANCIAL YEAR | Shire of Merredin | LGA | Not stated | October 2026 |
| Councillors Discretionary Fund | Fraser Coast Regional | LGA | Not stated | October 2026 |
| ROUND 2 COMMUNITY GRANTS NOW OPEN! | Shire of Merredin | LGA | Not stated | October 2026 |
| Rural Women’s Acceleration Grant | AgriFutures Australia | AU | Up to $7k | November 2026 |
| Kickstarter Grants QLD | Queensland Government | QLD | Up to $300k | November 2026 |
| Connect In Real Life (IRL) Phase 2 - 2026/27 | Department of Communities and Justice | NSW | $50k to $150k | November 2026 |
| International Women's Day Grant | Department of People, Sport and Culture | NT | Up to $3k | November 2026 |
| Stream 1 - 2027 Health and Development Participation Grant | Department of Education | NSW | $1.5k to $7.5k | November 2026 |
| Stream 2 - 2027 Health and Development Participation Grant | Department of Education | NSW | Up to $7.5k | November 2026 |
| Environmental Education 2026 - Tier 1 | Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water | NSW | Up to $60k | November 2026 |
| Environmental Education 2026 - Tier 2 | Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water | NSW | $60.0k to $250k | November 2026 |
| David Burgess Scholarship Foundation | Equity Trustees | AU | From $7.5k | November 2026 |
| Young Promoter Fund - 2026/27 | Sound NSW (Department of Creative Industries, Tourism, Hospitality and Sport) | NSW | $5k to $25k | November 2026 |
| National Mentoring Initiative | Australian Rural Leadership Foundation | AU | Not stated | November 2026 |
| Expert to Educator Fund Grant | Department of Education and Training | NT | Not stated | November 2026 |
| NT Clean Energy VET Accelerator Fund Grant | Department of Education and Training | NT | Not stated | November 2026 |
| Quick Response Fashion Grants NSW | New South Wales Government | NSW | Up to $10k | November 2026 |
| Environment grants | City of Banyule | LGA | Up to $10k | November 2026 |
| Skills Solutions Partnerships VIC | Victorian Government | VIC | Not stated | November 2026 |
| Place Grants | Town of Victoria Park | LGA | Up to $15k | November 2026 |
| 2026/2027 Round 2 Elsa Dixon Aboriginal Employment Grant | Department of Education | NSW | $10k to $40k | November 2026 |
| Australia Day Grants | Gunnedah Shire Council | LGA | Up to $500 | November 2026 |
| ClubGRANTS | City of Parramatta Council | LGA | From $500 | November 2026 |
| Community Capacity Building Grant | City of Parramatta Council | LGA | $5.0k to $25k | November 2026 |
| Community Events Grant | City of Parramatta Council | LGA | Not stated | November 2026 |
| Creative and Night-Time Economy Grant | City of Parramatta Council | LGA | $5.0k to $25k | November 2026 |
| Creative Projects Fund | City of Parramatta Council | LGA | $5.0k to $25k | November 2026 |
| Expanding Quality Access Program | Department of Education | NSW | From $100m | November 2026 |
| Gunnedah Community Scholarship Fund | Gunnedah Shire Council | LGA | Not stated | November 2026 |
| Hello Tomorrow – Deep Technology Global Challenge | Defence Science Institute | VIC | Not stated | November 2026 |
| Representative Sports Grant | City of Parramatta Council | LGA | Not stated | November 2026 |
| Section 356 Arts and Cultural Grants | Gunnedah Shire Council | LGA | Not stated | November 2026 |
| Small Grants Fund | City of Parramatta Council | LGA | Not stated | November 2026 |
| Social Enterprise Business Planning Grant | City of Parramatta Council | LGA | Up to $2k | November 2026 |
| Sports & Recreation Grant | City of Parramatta Council | LGA | Not stated | November 2026 |
| Milparanga Established Leadership Program | Australian Rural Leadership Foundation | AU | Not stated | December 2026 |
| Urban Forest Grants - Branch out and make a difference 💚 | Town of Victoria Park | LGA | Up to $500 | December 2026 |
| Community Grants Donations | Bland Shire Council | LGA | Not stated | December 2026 |
| Torres Strait Young Leaders Program | Australian Rural Leadership Foundation | AU | Not stated | December 2026 |
| Dafydd Lewis Scholarships | Equity Trustees | AU | Not stated | December 2026 |
| Mary Jane Lewis Scholarships Foundation | Equity Trustees | AU | Not stated | December 2026 |
| 2026 Mobile Preschool Funding program | Department of Education | NSW | Up to $20m | December 2026 |
| 2026 Start Strong for Community Preschools - June Update | Department of Education | NSW | Up to $550m | December 2026 |
| 2026 Start Strong for Long Day Care | Department of Education | NSW | $350m to $380m | December 2026 |
| 26/27 Learn to Swim Voucher Scheme | Department of People, Sport and Culture | NT | Not stated | December 2026 |
| 26/27 Sport Voucher Scheme (Parents/Carers) | Department of People, Sport and Culture | NT | Not stated | December 2026 |
| Industry Partnerships Program TAS | Tasmanian Government | TAS | $50k to $250k | December 2026 |
| Study NT: Study in Australia’s Northern Territory Scholarship – Higher Education (Round 1) | Department of Trade, Business and Asian Relations | NT | Not stated | December 2026 |
| Kingston Charitable Fund | City of Kingston | LGA | Not stated | February 2027 |
| Aboriginal Tourism Development in Northern Territory Parks and Reserves Grant Program Round 2 | Department of Tourism and Hospitality | NT | Up to $50k | March 2027 |
| Youth Quick Response Grants 2026-27 | Department of People, Sport and Culture | NT | Not stated | April 2027 |
Free 7 day trial
Every training and skills program here tells you the month. A trial tells you the day.
310 of the 1,088 training and skills programs in this catalogue carry a closing date the funder published, and every one of them shows its month on this page and on its own. The exact day, the funder's own closing time, the link to their application page and a countdown that stays right come with a 7 day free trial.
Start a free trialI already have an account
7 days, no card, nothing to cancel. When the trial ends the exact dates and the application links lock again until you subscribe. The catalogue itself, every program page and the month each one closes stay open to everybody, with no account at all.
Oct
12 close
Nov
32 close
Dec
13 close
12 training and skills programs close in October 2026. Every square is a day you cannot read yet.
Crossings
Your project is rarely only one of these.
840 of the 1,088 training and skills programs in this catalogue are also filed under community, because that is how the funder describes them. Each of these is the same programs seen from a different door.
- Community840
- Arts and culture661
- Environment653
- Health555
- Business growth508
- Capital works508
- Events489
- Sport and recreation441
Counted as programs carrying both categories. The catalogue never adds these up, because a hall upgrade filed under three purposes is one program and not three.
About Australian training and skills grants
Australian grant programs for workforce training, apprenticeships and skills development, pulled together from the Commonwealth, all 8 states and territories and local councils across the country. 1,088 programs are categorised under training and skills in this catalogue and 111 of them are open right now. Open programs closing soonest come first; closed rounds stay on the list, because most Australian grant programs run again and the alert list tells you the night one reopens.
Funded from both ends. 56% of this lane is council money and 44% comes from a state, territory or Commonwealth agency, so both are worth an application and they are rarely the same size of cheque. The largest single funder of training and skills projects in this catalogue is Department of Education at 127 programs, and 335 separate funders run at least one.
310 of these 1,088 programs carry a closing date the funder published, and this page shows the month for every one of them. 81 of them close inside the next year, with November 2026 the busiest month at 32. "Not stated" against an amount means the funder published no figure, and a program with no closing date means the funder published no deadline: neither is filled in with a guess. Where an amount is published, most training and skills grants in this catalogue sit between $1k to $1.5m.
A category earns a page of its own at 25 programs, and the categories overlap on purpose. A council program upgrading a netball court is capital works and sport and community at the same time, because that is how the funder describes it and how three different people will look for it, so this page's count and the other categories' counts do not add up to the 4,049 programs in the catalogue, and this site never adds them up.
Confirm every detail on the funder's own page before you apply. Every program here has a page of its own showing the funder, the amount, who can apply and the date it was last checked. Everything closing in the next 60 days, the directory by state and territory, or every category we track.